Thanks Joe George!

Curried Carrot Soup with Honey and Yogurt

Post number 2 for today is a soup that I knew I had to make as soon as I saw the recipe in the Artvoice that came out last Thursday.  There’s a local chef named Joe George that writes for that paper a lot, as well as the magazine Edible Buffalo, and for his own awesome blog, Urban Simplicity where he talks about cooking, bicycling, and all kinds of things of interest to Buffalonians or anyone else.  His Food for Thought column in Artvoice is something that I always look forward to, and this one about honey provided three great looking simple recipes, including this absolutely delicious curried carrot soup.

I adapted a little bit from the recipe Mr. George provided in order to make things simpler and just because of my own misinterpretation.  He originally called for 1 1/2 lbs. of carrots and I had 2 lbs. so I decided to increase everything else by just a little bit.  I also used vegetable stock instead of chicken, just to keep things vegetarian.  One of the things that I increased was the ginger, which I read as 2 tablespoons in the original recipe and increased to probably 3, when it turns out he wanted 2 teaspoons.  So my recipe is significantly more gingery (gingerier?), but I love ginger so I’m not really complaining.  If I had some galangal, I would have liked to use that in its stead, but alack and alas, I do not.  Maybe when I move into the city… All said, though, this soup came out great and was delicious, as Joe George said, both hot and chilled.  It came out sweet and spicy, and when it was cooking it gave off this delicious nostalgic aroma not unlike that of a head shop actually.  Go figure.

Bunny food!

Curried Carrot Soup with Honey and Yogurt

Adapted from Joe George’s recipe in Artvoice volume 8, number 17

Ingredients

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 large onion, diced

3 tablespoons minced ginger

4 cloves of garlic, minced

3 tablespoons curry powder

5 tablespoons of honey

2 pounds carrots, peeled and diced

4 cups vegetable stock

1/2 cup + a couple tablespoons plain yogurt

salt and pepper

Directions

This soup is really easy to make, but kind of prep intensive.  Before you start anything, get all of the ingredients peeled and chopped and minced and diced up.  I made the mistake of only peeling the carrots before I started the oil with all the other stuff and ended up frantically dicing them and was only about half done by the time it came to add them.  So peel your ginger and carrots and mince and dice them all up according to the ingredients list first.  Don’t leave the carrots like they are in this picture – dice them fools!

Look at all those roots and rhizomes!

Looking at that, it’s kind of funny to me now how pretty much everything in this soup, all the produce anyways, is some kind of a root or rhizome or something.  It’s like underground soup.  But yeah, once everything is prepped, get the oil going in a big soup pot and once it’s hot add the onions, garlic, and ginger and season them with salt and pepper.

Sauteeing the stuff

Once the onions start to brown a little bit and go soft, add the curry powder and the honey and saute that for a couple more minutes until it gets good and gooey and the curry powder fries a bit, then add in the carrots and broth.

Stirring it up little darling

I had to use store-bought vegetable stock because I don’t have quite enough scraps yet to make as big a batch as I would want, but if you have homemade broth or stock, by all means use that instead!  Bring this whole deal to a boil, then reduce it to a simmer and cook for about 45 minutes until the carrot bits are good and soft.  Then pull it off of the flame and stir in the yogurt.

Post yogurt addition

Now if you have an immersion blender (I do now, but won’t for very much longer…ahh it’s nice to have access to mom’s gadgets), just put that in here and blend the whole thing until it’s good and smooth and bisque-y.  If not, you can transfer it in batches to your regular blender and just puree the hell out of it.

The soup is done!

Now either serve it up or chill it first if you’re so inclined.  Kind of looks like butternut squash, doesn’t it?  I elected to garnish it with a dollop of yogurt and some chives from the garden, but some shredded carrots might have looked nice as well.  This stuff really is equally good hot or cold, and you could substitute sour cream in as a garnish if you like as kind of a borscht-thing.

The recipe makes a little more than 2 quarts.

Curried Carrot Soup with Honey and Yogurt

Stumble It! Digg It!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

