Chicken Finger Sub

Chicken Finger Sub

I Googled chicken finger subs before writing this because I wasn’t sure if this was solely a Buffalo-area phenomenon or not.  It appears to be pretty much isolated to Western New York, which sort of makes sense, although the rest of the nation is seriously missing out. I used to work at a pizzeria and sub shop and if you’re not from here, you would not believe how popular they are.  You can walk into any Jim’s Steakout location, even at 3 in the morning, and find the place cram-jammed with people seeking these hot, crunchy, spicy fingers with  Buffalo wing or barbecue sauce.  They’re complimented with creamy bleu cheese dressing slathered all over a sub roll and topped with shredded lettuce, onions, and tomatoes.  These things are probably my guiltiest pleasure; they are so delicious as a Friday night kind of dinner with some Dr. Pepper or Cherry Coke or something and even better as a hung-over Sunday kind of thing where you don’t even eat until 4 in the afternoon.  There is something about getting down in your PJs and unwrapping that white paper blotched with glops of bleu cheese dressing run through with bright red-orange veins of hot sauce and reviewing your notes or something.  Fat kid heaven; seriously next level shit.

I decided to make my own with the baguette I made to eat on Thursday while I watched the Office and 30 Rock.  The Buffalo wing sauce is usually made with some vinegar-based chili pepper sauce like Frank’s Red Hot, but I switched that out for Sriracha.  This stuff is seriously spicy and is so great on nearly anything, it was a perfect fit for a chicken finger sub and would be awesome on some chicken wings.  I also didn’t have any bleu cheese dressing, so I made my own out of Greek yogurt, mayonnaise, and these bleu cheese chunks I had in my fridge:
Rosenborg Bleu Cheese

This stuff is out of control, crazy good and could be used on anything you want bleu cheese for.  I don’t know where it came from, but we’ve had it for a while and it is still great.  Lastly, I didn’t have any lettuce to shred for the sub, so I just used baby spinach and it was great.  Washed down with a crispy, hoppy Southern Tier IPA and a healthy dose of Jack Donaghy, this is a hell of a dinner for a once-fat kid now grown.

Chicken Finger Sub

Chicken Finger Sub

Ingredients:

Sub roll or baguette cut in half

shredded lettuce

thinly sliced onions

tomatoes (optional)

Chicken fingers:

1 boneless, skinless chicken breast pounded flat and cut into 2 or 3  “fingers”

1 egg

3/4 cup panko breadcrumbs

salt

pepper

1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil

Sauce:

2 tablespoons melted butter

2 1/2 tablespoons Sriracha

Bleu cheese dressing:

1 tablespoon Greek yogurt

1 tablespoon mayonnaise

blue cheese cubes, chunks, or crumbles

pepper

Directions:

Mix the sauce ingredients together until fully incorporated, adjusting the proportion to your taste.  1 1/2: 1 is pretty spicy, you might want to decrease the amount of Sriracha to make it more mild.

Mix the bleu cheese dressing ingredients together.

Beat the egg and season with salt and pepper.  Dredge the chicken fingers in the egg mixture, and then coat them with breadcrumbs.  Heat the oil over medium-high heat and pan-fry the chicken fingers until they’re golden brown on each side.

Lightly toast the baguette or sub roll.

Mise-en-place

Dip the chicken fingers in the sauce and put them on the roll.  Top them with lettuce or spinach, onions, and tomatoes if you want them. Liberally spread some bleu cheese dressing on the top of the roll and make it into a sandwich.

This isn’t rocket science.

Makes 1 chicken finger sub.
Chicken Finger Sub

Stumble It! Digg It!

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Chicken Finger Sub”

  1. Michele Says:

    I am from Buffalo, NY as well and yes it is just a Buffalo phenomenon! I live downtown currently and for all you people who have never had a chicken finger sub should definitely try one!!!

  2. ck Says:

    Actually, its an east coast phenom. I lived in Boston and Maine for over 25 years and I’ve been eating chix finger subs since I was 5 years old. My favorite sandwich of all time.

  3. Rob Says:

    I’ve lived just outside of Boston for almost 30 years and I grew up to chicken finger subs. I moved to Florida and they look at me like I am crazy for asking for it.

    I also miss steak tip subs and Teriyaki subs. AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

